During a session of the Ohio House of Representatives, State Representatives Terry Johnson (R-McDermott) and Ryan Smith (R-Gallipolis) presented Correction Officer William J. Bauer, II with a House resolution for being awarded the 2012 Ronald C. Marshall Award for Correction Officer of the Year.

“I’m very proud of William,” said Representative Johnson. “I’ve been in Southern Ohio Correctional Facility, and it reminded me of being in Baghdad. It is a tough place to be, and he has a tremendously difficult job. These corrections officers are like soldiers. I support them 100 percent, and it is important that they be well-equipped and have everything they need. William has distinguished himself and his very deserving of this award.”

“An important function government is to help protect the citizens of this great state,” said Representative Smith. “Officer Bauer performs a vital service with a great deal of professionalism. It is a difficult task to rehabilitate in a confined environment and William brings an important balance to his profession.”

Officer Bauer began his career as a correction officer at the Southern Ohio Correctional Facility (SOCF) in October 2000. He was previously selected as the SOCF Officer of the Month in July 2011 and has progressed to be named the 2012 SOCF Officer of the Year.

He has served as a member of the SOCF Special Response Team since 2004, as a member on the DRC Special Tactics and Response Team since 2007, and as the assistant oleoresin capsicum coordinator since 2010. He also serves on the Weapons Committee and Reducing Prison Violence Committee.

Officer Bauer resides in McArthur with his wife and son.


Post a Comment