The Ohio House of Representatives, along with the Ohio Senate, assembled in a joint convention to present the Ohio Military Medal of Distinction to the families and friends of 28 service members who died while serving their country in 2011.

The Ohio Military Medal of Distinction was created in Senate Bill 248 of the 127th Ohio General Assembly to honor the sacrifice of Ohio’s fallen service members and their loved ones on behalf of the State of Ohio, and the General Assembly convenes annually for this purpose. Participating in the presentation were Ohio House Speaker William G. Batchelder, Ohio Senate President Tom Niehaus, Lieutenant Governor Mary Taylor, Brigadier General Mark Stephens, and Ohio Department of Veterans Services Director Thomas Moe. “It is my hope and prayer that these medals provide the families of Ohio’s fallen with a deeper sense of comfort,” Speaker Batchelder said.

“These service members volunteered to go into harm’s way to defend the freedoms and liberties we are blessed to have, and we cannot thank them enough for putting their love of country before all else.”


Post a Comment