Chairman of the 21st Century Manufacturing Task Force Kirk Schuring (R-Canton) has announced the hearing schedule and membership of the task force, which is designed to facilitate discussion and interaction between Ohio’s manufacturing community, public policy makers and interested parties regarding strategies to improve Ohio’s manufacturing competitiveness.

In addition to Chairman Schuring, the task force will consist of Vice Chairman Ross McGregor (R-Springfield), Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance), Rep. Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville), Rep. Barbara Sears (R-Monclova Twp.), Rep. Denise Driehaus (D-Cincinnati), Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire), Rep. Sean O’Brien (D-Brookfield), and Rep. Nickie Antonio (D-Lakewood).

Hearings will be held on the following dates:
  • Thursday, August 9th at Timken Company (Canton)
  • Thursday, September 27th at Owens Illinois (Maumee)
  • Thursday, October 11th at Pentaflex (Springfield)
  • Thursday, October 18th at Dupont (Circleville)
  • Thursday, November 15th at Worthington Industries (Columbus)

Each session will begin with a tour of a local manufacturing facility for the task force members starting at 10 a.m. Hearings will commence at 1:30 p.m. and conclude at 5 p.m.

There will be an emphasis at each location on a specific aspect of manufacturing in Ohio with the goal of showcasing its diversity and importance to the state. The hearings will have prepared presentations from manufacturing experts across Ohio and the United States. Time will be made available for the public to offer comments.

The media is encouraged to attend the hearings.


Post a Comment