Speaker of the Ohio House William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) has appointed State Representatives Matt Huffman (R-Lima) and Lynn Slaby (R-Copley) to serve on the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission, a bipartisan committee that will be responsible for examining Ohio’s Constitution and making recommendations for modernization to the Ohio Legislature. Additionally, the speaker himself will serve on the commission with Representatives Huffman and Slaby.

“I have full faith that my esteemed colleagues Representatives Huffman and Slaby will serve the people of Ohio well in this additional capacity,” Batchelder said. “Both of them bring a unique breadth of experiences and perspectives to the table that, I believe, will make discussions on Ohio’s Constitution very productive and engaging. I look forward to serving with them on the commission and ensuring that the Ohio Constitution best serves the citizens of our great state.”

The commission is charged with studying the Constitution of Ohio, promoting an exchange of experiences and suggestions respecting desired changes in the Constitution, considering the problems pertaining to the amendment of the Constitution, and making recommendations to the General Assembly from time to time for the amendment of the Constitution.

In total, the commission will be composed of 32 members, 12 of which will be appointed from the General Assembly—three appointed by the Senate president, three by the Senate minority leader, three by the House speaker, and three by the House minority leader. The 20 additional members are appointed by a majority vote and are selected from outside of the General Assembly.


Post a Comment