During today’s session of the Ohio House of Representatives, Speaker of the House William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) honored State Representative Terry Johnson (R-McDermott) for being awarded the prestigious 2011 Physician of the Year Award by the American Osteopathic Foundation.

The award honors the extraordinary accomplishments of an osteopathic physician who, throughout his or her service, brings a sense of pride to the profession and whose actions promote the science of medicine and the betterment of public health. It honors those who achieve greatness through integrity, commitment to service, and community involvement.

“I had the privilege of honoring a good friend and colleague who, throughout his life, has dedicated himself to serving others,” Batchelder said. “Dr. Johnson is a great man and a passionate, devoted physician who has touched the lives of those within the national medical community, as well as all Ohioans. As a servant of the people, his integrity is unparalleled and his commitment to bettering the lives of those around him unwavering. I feel very fortunate as Speaker of this institution to have such a fine and distinguished member as Dr. Johnson in our caucus, as well as to have the opportunity to honor him on the House floor for this remarkable accomplishment.”

Rep. Johnson’s receipt of the Physician of the Year Award by the American Osteopathic Foundation follows a string of other recognitions that he has received. In 2010 his Ohio University medical students selected him as the “Outstanding Family Medicine Physician” at Southern Ohio Medical Center. In 2011 the Ohio State Society of the American College of Osteopathic Physicians selected Dr. Johnson as the state “Family Physician of the Year.” He also received the Columbus Osteopathic Association William I. Linder, DO, Advocate Award in 2011.

In addition to serving in the Ohio House, Rep. Johnson practices family medicine in Lucasville and is also the assistant dean at Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine. He served as a colonel in the Ohio Army National Guard and as a commander in the National Guard Medical Detachment.

Rep. Johnson was presented the award at a special ceremony in Orlando, Florida on October 29th.


Post a Comment