COLUMBUS – The House Republican Caucus today selected their leadership team for the 129th General Assembly. State Representative William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) was selected by his legislative peers to serve as the 101st Speaker of the Ohio House.

Joining the Speaker-elect, State Representative Louis W. Blessing Jr. (R-Cincinnati) will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore, State Representative Matt Huffman (R-Lima) will serve as the Majority Floor Leader, and State Representative Barbara Sears (R-Monclova Township) will serve as Assistant Majority Floor Leader. Returning as the House Republican Whip team, State Representative John Adams (R-Sidney) will serve as the Majority Whip and State Representative Cheryl Grossman will serve as the Assistant Majority Whip.

“I am honored and humbled to be selected by my constituents to return as their state representative and equally honored that my legislative colleagues have entrusted me to lead the House of Representatives,” said Batchelder. “The potential this state has is unlimited, and we now have the people involved who are prepared to move ahead and work in the spirit of cooperation to find thorough solutions to the matters facing Ohio.”

The official swearing in of new members and leadership positions will occur on Monday, January 3rd at 2 p.m., during opening day ceremonies in Columbus.

Batchelder represents the 69th House District, which includes portions of Medina County. He previously served for more than 30 years as a state representative in the Ohio General Assembly and served as Speaker Pro Tempore from 1995 to 1998. Batchelder served as a judge on the Ninth District Court of Appeals. He returned to the Ohio House in 2007.

Batchelder will be sworn in by his wife, Judge Alice Batchelder.


Post a Comment